Nimbus Oracle 29er Frame Width Issue

Hi Folks,

I’ve been riding for 3 months now. I’m starting to up my mileage now. I’m doing 3 -5 mile rides 5 times a week fairly comfortably. I will increase this as I get fitter and more able to cope with the uni.

My riding is smooth pavement, road and a bit of light off road. Tyre width max will be about 2.4" or below.

The issue that I am having is that the Oracle frame touches my calves where it bulges at the top as I pedal. I’m finding this irritating. I’m reasonably tall and haven’t got massive calves. Am I doing something wrong? Is this normal? I have been thinking of buying a KH frame as it should be somewhat narrower.

Any thoughts or words of wisdom?

Hi there

Not sure why would that be unless your legs are quite tall and wide/chunky perhaps? I haven’t got any 29er so couldn’t comment on that particular unicycle frame.

I am 1.73 cm tall and my legs are on the skinny side. I’ve got the Oracle 36 and it doesn’t rub my legs when riding. The only time I get some rubbing on my legs is when I’m wearing the KH Shin/knee pads when doing Muni with my KH 26 but I don’t really notice it (I only know that some rubbing is happening because the paint is coming off the frame).

I’m no expert but as the KH 29er frame can fit the 3’ Knard tyre I would guess that it is not any narrower than the Oracle frame?.

Hopefully someone with the same issue might be able to answer your question…

Cheers

It sounds like a riding style issue, but I don’t know how to correct it except to be mindful of it and try outboarding your feet slightly on your pedals or actively trying to keep your knees away from the frame. Possibly a set of cranks that bow outward a bit (“Q factor”) could help? I think some of the KH dual-hole cranks offer this.

Something else to consider: I believe the Hatchet frames are designed to eliminate this problem while being able to run fairly wide tires?