[newbie] City commuting: is unicycle really efficient

Hello,

I’m new to unicycling, in fact i’m really interested about it.
The truth is that i’m a longboard skateboarder, not a one wheel rider.

My question is in the title: is unicycle really efficient for city commuting?

When i ride my longboard on the city, i always have to stop, take my board on my hands just to cross the road (because of car traffic or high sidewalks curbs) or when there are too much pedestrians on sidewalks.

How often do you have to get off your unicycle when commuting? For what reasons?

Hi mate, welcome to the forums!
Once you’ve got idling sorted you shouldn’t have to come off at all.
Personally i don’t idle…If there’s anywhere i have to stop i just hop on the spot till it’s cool to move again.
Hope you join us on the unicycling as it’s great fun! :slight_smile:

more efficient that a longbord mate :wink:
but yeah i ride my unicycle everywhere and i would say that it is efficient just because its easer to power yourself along (e.g. uphill ) also there safer on roads than longbords ( safety is comparitive on unicycles )

It also depends on your skills. I hold on to poles at lights, I rarely stop at stop signs unless there is traffic, uphill is great, downhills are slow (relative to a bicycle) but faster than up, and you get a lot of people looking at you with awe (maybe confusion). I can’t hop up a curb so that limits me at times. If you learn to jump (and most do) you have more freedom to travel without dismounting. If you idle, you don’t need a pole. It is a lot of fun and it’s unique.

What are the benefit/cons of unicycling?

For example i imagine that a unicycle might be heavy and big, so there might be some problems for storage.

Also what is the average speed of a 24" unicycle?
Here with longboards we can go really fast.

When you aren’t stopping every minute and carrying it :roll_eyes: