New to unicycling: Rhode Island

Hello everyone,
My name is Yelena, I just got my first unicycle and am trying to tame it. While I am progressing very slowly but surely, there are people who tell me that at my age is impossible to learn to unicycle - and I’m only 36. I have a strong medical and scientific background, and my thought is that a healthy person can learn to unicycle at any age, although it make take longer for older people than for teenagers.
Here I am looking for resources of tutorials, tips, and first-hand stories. Also, if there are experienced unicyclists in my area (Rhode Island) who could give me a lesson or two, it would be great!
Thank you in advance!

Hi!
You can also find other unicyclists near you at https://www.unicyclemap.com/

Congrats on your new endeavor. I just started riding in January and I’ll be 50 in June. So no you’re not too old as long as your having fun. As long as you put in the time you will get it just keep challenging yourself. And welcome to the site

Most of the recent posts on this forum are from people who are older than you are now, and were older than you when they first learned to ride, so don’t worry! Many of the younger unicyclists who used to post comments here and aren’t frightened of the NSA have moved to Facebook.

Unicycling can be an extreme sport if you are crazy enough to make it one, but otherwise it is quite gentle. Unless you are morbidly obese or suffer from some other condition that impairs your movement or balance, you should be able to learn to ride with no problem. Just find a flat stretch of open pavement and start trying to ride. It may take some persistence. Finding someone to show you the first steps in person is not required, but it is helpful. You can also learn a lot on this forum.

Thanks everyone!