Need a new uni

I’ve been riding off and on for just short of a year now and I want to upgrade from my 20" Torker to something a bit more serious. I live in Hawaii, bout a quarter mile from the beach and my Torker is showing the signs of many beach path rides. In addition to the rust, my crank arm just went out, the threads stripped out.

Before I spend the money on new cranks, and shipping, I wanted to get some opinions on what would be a good second cycle. I would primarily use my new cycle for short distance transportation and very light trail riding. Please keep in mind that I am a poor college student. If possible I don’t want to spend more then $220.

Mahalo,
Dani

The key thing to consider is what size wheel to get. For the uses you describe your next unicycle should be a fairly standard model but with a bigger wheel size, either 24", 26" or 28" with maybe a cyclo cross tyre. You probably won’t want to invest the extra money required to get a specialized offroad uni and it is likely not justified for short commutes and light riding. Throwing on a cheap nobbly tire and maybe some longer cranks will suffice to convert a 24" or 26" uni into something for the trails (with no drops). You can even run short cranks if you don’t mind hard work on the hills.

A 24" is noticeably faster than a 20" over short distance and you’ll still be able to work on tricks if you feel inclined.

A 26" gives you a little more speed and a lot wider range of offroad tyres to choose from.

A 28" goes fast and with a cyclo cross tyre you can take it offroad as well. (Cyclo cross tyres are sort of like narrower versions of offroad tyres, they are a marriage between road and offroad tyres).

A semcycle XL is a good choice of unicycle in your price range. ($165 for 24", $185 for 26" and $200 for 28")