My newest skills and what I want to learn

My newest skills since lockdown

Ok, so I started riding Sept 2017 so now I’ve been riding 3 years.

In the last 6 months, I’ve gained these skills:

1. Idling left foot - that’s good on smaller unis now. Taking my right foot off and idling left foot only seems to work on my basic 20”.
  2. Hopping - left foot back and left hand on handle is my strongest combination. Still needs work on unis over 24” though. But I can stop and hop in circles, and side to side. To be honest, hopping was surprisingly easy and quick to pick up in comparison to idling!
  3. Curb drops are generally good - I could do curbs before but with a lot of fear and I’d always avoid it
  4. Some ability to move my foot on the pedal (I do need to think about it though)
  5. Much improved muni skills, but it might also be due to the uni :slight_smile: And I think the muni skills definitely help the general riding skills!
  6. Some backwards ability, I did one short session a week ago and it felt surprisingly good, didn’t need to necessarily hold a railing after a short time. I think there’s a good chance I will have it nailed soon. I realise backwards is a good skill to have when playing uni hockey
  7. Half decent mounting of medium sized unis (27.5 and 29”) though I think shorter cranks will frustrate my mounting ability on these
  8. Improved uni hockey skills! But unfortunately I’m still not as fast or nimble a rider as some :frowning:

What needs work:

1. Mounting uphill. And I wish I could mount effortlessly/make it look easy
  2. Hopping on bigger unis
  3. Backwards!
  4. I want to be able to ride and hop seat in front
  5. I want to be able to hop onto pallets
  6. I have some ability to idle right foot down, but not quite 25 in a row quality
  7. Why not learn to ride 1 footed
  8. Riding uphill! Some people are waaaayyy stronger than me at it.