Muni vs. Trial

My boys have advanced to the point where I’d like to get them new unicycles…something that will last. However, while deciding I’m wondering a few things. First, they like both Mountain and Trial unicycling from what they see on YouTube and I can see them doing some of both in the future. So, is it easier to do trials with the MUNI or do Mountain/trail stuff with a trial. One of the boys likes the idea of having a larger wheel, but again he’s not sure what is best.

It’s not like I’m about to win the lottery, so these will have to be a good combination for both types of riding. Realistically, I can see them doing the trial stuff around the house as we’d have to drive to get to a trail.

We live nowhere near a unicycle/bike shop…so I’m relying heavily on the opinions/information here.

Thank you for any insight.

im not an expert! i have not bought my second unicycle yet, but i have done a lot of research and i have the same problem as you do, starting with wheel sizes, trial= 20’
mountain usually = 24 or larger wheels due to the necessity of higher speeds while doing muni, so if your kids want to do mad trials and higher jumps/falls, you need to get a trials unicycle, a koxx one that are cheap right now on walmart/meijer, or if they want to do long distances rides, and ride in the town, city or go muni cycling, you need to get a muni unicycle wich you would need to do a research on what to get, but there are no unicycles that can do both jobs, perhaps a Guni, wich is really expensive!

I hope my comment helpes you!

So they would always be riding together then. You could always get one a trials uni and get the other a muni, then they could trade off… or duke it out for their preferred cycle. Maybe a uni-joust to settle things. :stuck_out_tongue: