Mountain Uni Disk Brake System

I have been using a Mountainuni disk brake system for about 8 months now and figure it is time to write a review. For the quick version skip to the bottom

First impressions when I opened the box were not really all that great. They were poorly packed and didn’t have an even number of spacers on all the bolts. The packaging has since been improved and I think the spacer thing was an anomaly (I had the right amount, just not evenly spaced).

There was considerable confusion about what adaptors were needed to make the MU disk system work with various frames. I had a custom Triton frame with disk mounts and Hayes Stroker Ryde disk brake with a 180mm front/160mm rear adaptor. I was able to make the adaptor work flipped upside down but it wasn’t ideal. I found out later that I needed a 160mm front adaptor for a welded on mount.

Once it was set up and I was able to go for a ride all that tinkering and fooling around with spacers suddenly felt worth it. It was the buttery smooth braking action I had been looking for.

I set up a few wheels with disk cranks to work in the frame but was unable to make my Schlumpf wheel work with the flared out Triton frame (though it worked in a KH frame) It was great to be able to switch wheels with ease and not have to move the brake. It was also great to be able to have a brake with my 32" wheel since there is no frame with brake mounts in that position.

I moved the Hayes brake to my 36" frame with a UCM adaptor and setup a Shimano M775 brake on the Triton for CMW. Unfortunately I could not mount the Shimano brake lever in my preferred position on my muni bar so I used the 36" frame with Hayes and UCM with my 26" wheel for the weekend and had flawless performance (once I got clearance issues sorted, ended up filing down the pad retention pin to eliminate rubbing)