More Fun for 25 bucks

I have been riding with Shimano DX pedals for three years. They are light weight, and strong and I have had no problems with them, other than the pins being too small.

After a UPD and nearly getting my boys squashed by a rock - missed by that much…

I decided it was time to move on. I bought some Azonic Fusion Pedals from recs from Jess and JL thanks to the search function. http://www.blueskycycling.com/product143_44_-Azonic_Fusion_Magnesium_Pedals.htm

I put them on earlier in the week, and quickly noticed a difference. I was able to ride some skinnies better than I had ever done in the past. These included a low concrete domed-top garden boarder that was only about 4’ in diameter - basically like riding on a pipe, except that it is sinuous, not straight as it follows curved line along some grass. I only went about 8 feet at most, but that beats the two or three I had done on the old pedals.

Then it came to the wall riding. Also, concrete and sinuous. The wall is domed on the top, slightly and only 6" wide. The total length is about 15 feet. It starts at 9" off the ground and gains to over 24" high and then a steep 3 foot long decent back down dumping you on the sidewalk.

I have only ridden this once in my past. I nailed it twice on Tuesday. I attributed the success to the pedals. There was just a more stable footbed and I felt more balanced.

The pedals are narrower by at least 3/8", forcing the foot in closer to the crank. Essentially, I think it reduces the Q-factor, and gave me more inline control.

It was a banner day for me with the new Fusions. They are more sticky and relatively easy to move my foot on. I was out in sweltering heat this morning for an hour testing them out before the heat fried me, and the added grippiness, made a difference when rolling over 1 foot high bolders and launching off the same, as my foot was more able to stay on the pedals.