Lucifer Fork: Highend performance MUni, half the price.

Hey,

Shortly, you may be able to get a low end fork to fit your high end wheel hopes. Not being able to shell out the $1000+ that a high end ride would set me back, I waited on a frame to come from Tiawan via The UK Source that would fit a Profile/Gazz set up. I started riding again in September after a 11 year hiayatus- and now am on my 2nd rim, hub and 3rd set of cranks. This last set of cranks began to die on a road trip to Memphis. Pounding cranks back on when you’re 300 miles away from home is not fun; it was time to bite the bullet and buy a Profile.

The fork is what Rodger at the UK Source calles a “Nimbus II” (after a frame that bears no resembalance to it’s predisessor)- but looks like a Devil’s fork- I’ll call it the ‘Lucifer’ (name like that has sex appeal, ya know? I’ll leave the Nimbus for young wizards and the like). I’m not sure what they are going to end up costing- but I susspect it will be less than $60- maybe a good deal less. As you may have seen, the fork has a pronounced barb at the crown, which is reputed to be a cozy place to rest your foot; I wouldn’t know about that- but it does look hell-a-cool. More importantly, it will acomodate a 3" Gazzoloddi with little less than 1 cm clearance on each side. This will meen occasional ‘Ping!’'s from stones picked up by the tread- but if you get a tall enough fork you should be able safely vise the down tubes and get a little more room. As is, is ok. There is oooodles of room for a tire like, say… a Fireball (if you can lay your hands on one). The frame is nice and stiff and hasn’t allowed even a hint of wheel rub- and this is with the 28" frame. Weight considerations aside, I actualy prefer the way it responds compared to the Hunter or Wilder.