Lower back issues

I’ve been riding for about 18 months and I still have lower back muscle fatigue issues which force me to stop on rides or at least spoil the fun. I have asked the more experienced local riders what they though but it seems that the issue isn’t as universal as I had hoped. That said I thought I would appeal to the broader community for answers. Not sure why I didn’t join here sooner duh:D

So, I ride a mix of trials and mucking about on my 20 (nothing that would impress but relevant to the topic) Muni on my 26’er and road riding on my 36’er (less than 4 hours thus far but enough of a go to be relevant here).

On my 20, there is no problem at all and I could ride till “bell bottoms” came back into fashion without any back trouble (posture is best on the 20, maybe rolling resistance???)

On my Muni 26 I am ok on the mountain because imo of the fact that I am usually changing direction rapidly, descending or climbing or running out bails so my back issues are less apparent. That said, the moment I hit the road for short fun rides or travel any distance on gravel smooth or otherwise then the pain sets in. The frustrating thing is that cardio is not an issue and were I to get on top of the back problem only saddle soreness would cause me to stop. My posture on the 26 is better when I let go of the handle but the back pain comes regardless.

On my 36’er, there is discomfort but less so than with the 26’er and I feel this is because of what I call the “flywheel” effect caused by the big wheel taking itself between deadspot to power stroke and the reduced rolling resistance of the smooth wheel allowing me to sit up nicely. I havent fitted a touring bar yet because I would rather get some ride time under my belt before destroying it with upd’s. I wonder if it will help. My posture on the big wheel is better than it is on the 26 but not perfect.

I have tried to tilt the saddle back to force my posture to correct itself but this has not worked.

HELP!!!