Long Distance Muni

Hello everyone, I’m new to the platform so bear with me. I have been riding for about 10 years and have been getting into Muni. I am planning on doing a long Muni ride soon, about 50 miles with 10,000 ft of elevation gain. Does anyone have experience with this or any suggestions, I do 10 to 15 mile rides multiple times a week and did a 30-mile ride (6000 ft) a few weeks ago. I carry a 3-liter camelback, intertube, Allen keys, and food.

Thanks for your help.

Welcome to the forum EOAU.

For your question…

Can you repair your tire with with the tools you have?

As well, if the trail is remote, I would think about taking as many of the 10 essentials that you think are necessary.

If you have multiple water sources along the way, a small filter like a Sawyer would allow you to refill along the way and reduce your pack weight.

Lastly, have a trip plan and give it to someone responsible in case anything goes wrong.

Have fun and definitely do a trip report please.
Ted

Thanks, I have some water refill locations along the way, I have some patches, but I have to get a set of tire levers. It is not a very remote route it is an Ultra Marathon course going through a few different towns. I like the water filter suggestion and to have a plan, I will definitely do those.

Thanks for your feedback.

A small first aid kit is something I bring on every Muni ride. Luckily, I only used one bandaid out of it, but it’s better to be prepared for worse. Headlamp if there is a risk of getting caught in the dark and a phone for emergencies. Other than that, sounds pretty good to me.

Muni is always hard to plan, since the difficulty of the trails really dictates your pace - and it’s not always easy to know what is good to ride or not from a map. But since you say it’s not a very remote route, don’t worry too much - just go for it and have fun :slight_smile: