LightBicycle 36” Carbon Rim

Hello all :wave:

The rumours over this project started a little while back and were discussed in this thread:

Recently I got the design for their new rim which is asymmetrical and looks to my eyes more like a mix of the Braus’s narrower design and the Dominator2.

I’ve got the go ahead to share this here, so we can get feedback on the design from those with a more engineering bent.

Naturally there’s also an element of trust needed as the engineers at LB also clearly know how to make rims — but for 36” rims to be a success we would need there to be a clear awareness to test tyres at 60psi and be aware that there are variations between tyres.

7 Likes

For reference, drawings for other rims (those have already been sent to Nancy from LB in December):
Dominator2:

Nextie:

Braus:

So, I’m not a mechanical engineer, but based on the other designs, this ones looks pretty great. Now, I’m eager to see this one in my uni :star_struck:

2 Likes

Here here!

I can’t wait either as it looks so nice especially the asymmetrical part.

Only area I wasn’t so sure on was the thickness of the side areas - think these are 2.6 whereas others as 2.8 ish. But again I’m not an engineer and my gut says this will work well due to being narrower than the Nextie :crossed_fingers:

Sure! My Braus rim is hard to center because of its symmetrical aspect. I had to get it a bit off-center to have my spokes well tightened :frowning:

2 Likes

Nice job. It’s really narrow which would make for a “pointy” tire. Braus riders might have feedback on this.
Interesting they would make an offset rim. I guess it makes sense since even the bikes will have disc brakes in the front and lots of gears in the rear.

4 Likes

I can’t take the credit here as it was @Maxence that first mentioned it on the forums, but it’s been fun sharing my own view with LB when asked for comment - and I’ll be very keen to see how this one comes out of the mould.