Learning to ride from the beginning

G’day

I have done search but not really had much luck.
There must be a sticky or tutorial on how to learn to ride a unicycle from the beginning( here is a unicycle , this is how you sit on it etc).
Can someone point me in the right direction please.

thankyou for your time

harro

YouTube is your friend.
This site is nice too. It’s youtube videos organized by category. It has useful links as well.

G’day

That’s exactly what I wanted.
Thanks

Thankyou for your time

harro

Hello Harro,

I started learning in September last year and kept a comprehensive diary. It is on the “Just Conversation” forum and the thread is called “Learning Journal”. You may find some of the early posts helpful, if not at least entertaining :).

The Klaas Bil learning document has excellent suggestions that worked great for me. http://www.xs4all.nl/~klaasbil/uni_beginners.htm See the “Learning to Unicycle” link near the bottom of the page to download the PDF.

Best to you on your learning adventure!

NSYO

aarons and notsoyoungone … thanks for great websites! I added it in my favorites file!

If you believe that you can truly learn how to ride a unicycle, then your battle is half-won. You have to have the proper mental attitude when it comes to learning how to ride a unicycle. Just think positively and you’ll be surprised at how quickly you learn to ride.

Starting…

I too started by watching YouTube videos.
Here’s what I did (November 2009):

• Sit on uni and hold onto a wall; figure out how not to sit on my "meat and 2 veg"
  • For the first 2 weeks, I would rock back and forth 100 times with my left foot down, then 100 times with my right foot down (about 10-20 minutes every day)
  • After I was comfortable with that and it seemed easier, I would pedal forward for 10 revolutions, holding onto a wall (or a tennis court works well); then back 10 revolutions. (about 20 minutes every day)