KH seat bolts constantly on the loose.

My KH seat just seems to want to come loose on its post on a weekly basis. The handle and bumper bolts come a little loose along the way as well. I know when its happening as the seat starts to squeek in a unappealing sort of way.

Now its not that I am doing a lot of hopping and dropping with this particular seat, in fact the seat in question is the one that I use on my commuter uni and therefore doesn’t go through much in terms of torquing about.

It really doesn’t take much to set things right, just a few turns with the socket wrench. But I am wondering if it might be time to add some lock tight to the bolts. Anyone done this to their KH seat bolts yet?

Erin

I’m having a similar problem with my seat. I’m just learning, so the seat is taking quite a hammering at the moment. I have put a second nut on each side of the seat bolts to act as a “lock.” That seems to work quite well up to now.

Phil

I forgot to add: I don’t have a KH seat, It’s a no-name taiwanese thing.

Phil

Yup. Loctite or Permatex threadlocker will keep the nuts and bolts under the seat nice and tight. The medium strength stuff is strong enough for seat nuts and bolts.

I don’t have a KH seat yet, but all unicycle seats have problems with the nuts getting loose. Pretty much any of my seats that I neglect to Loctite will get loose. Sometimes I’ll get lazy and neglect to reapply the Loctite after adjusting the seat and sure enough that seat will get loose.

Phil.

If it’s a Savage Saddle, Then it’s probably be a “No-name Taiwanese Type”. Try a Viscount saddle or some other saddles. Go for good brand Names like KH-Velo or a Miyata Saddle, But avoid The Savage Saddle.