Keeping up on one wheel

There’s a group of folks I go to school with who do a weekly bicycle ride around town (about 14 miles or so). So the thought occurred to me that it would be fun to get into distance uni and ride along with them. However, to do that, I’m going to need to at least come close to keeping up. I currently generally ride the Nimbus 26" mUni from unicycle.com, and returned there to look at Cokers, but it appears they no longer sell them. Any thoughts on picking up some speed and being able to hang with some semi-serious bicyclers? (if it’s possible).

Oh…and as mentioned I’m a student, hence the dinero is limited. :slight_smile:

If you’re with a group of dedicated cyclists, you won’t be able to keep up. If they saunter and go at a nice recreational pace, you can keep up on a 36" with short cranks.

There’s some rumours going around about UDC releasing a new 36" model, so I’m assuming their lack of product on the page has to do with that, though for any concrete information you can always email them.

geared 36…

riding with bikers

No way you’ll be able to keep up. Our ski club hosts rides every Monday night at various places in the state of Connecticut. The riders have options of short, medium, or long rides (generally 10, 20, and 30 miles). On nights with comparatively flat grades I’ll do the short ride on my 28" Sun. I get passed by everybody but I get in about the same time as the folks on the long rides. Those hammerheads average close to 20 mph. Last Monday I did 7.7 miles on the uni averaging only 6.8 mph.

I did manage to get 5.2 miles before my first UPD. That’s a new personal best!

ive ridden my 24" with friends riding their bikes. i couldnt really keep up but we were mostly riding from bike jumps to skate bowls, so we were in the same spot for a while. i want to get a coker to keep up but dont really want to pay for one for a while.