Just heard on CNN (so it's true)

Mastering juggling increases brain matter

(and then a few 3 ballers were shown)

I’ve heard that just about anything that is difficult to learn is good excercise for the brain. Unicycling is pretty high up there too, which is why many of us are here. I know I’ve learned many things trying to ride that have transfered across into my general ability to move. I’m not the most talented or coordinated guy in the world, and I’ve been driving a desk for 25 years, so perhaps my middle aged brain is “growing” at a faster rate than an athletic 16 year old’s would.

Brains slowly attrophy in a lifetime, but constant learning stops or even reverses that process. Like with muscles, if you don’t use it you lose it. Medical researchers find that trial lawyers, who have to rapidly learn the facts on every new case they get, are among the fittest mentally. Their brains are usually indistinguishable from 20 year old’s brains when they die. Adventurers are similar - sharp as a tack even at 80 (well, except for Messner… sad story there.) People with repetitive occupations, like coal mining or assembly work in factories, often lose up to 50% of their brain volume by the time they are 70. Hard drinking accelerates the process. It’s really sobering to compare MRI scans of old guys with different occupations.

I can see the TV show now;

Ryan Atkins: Trial Lawyer

‘Did you or did you NOT order the Pedal Grab?’

‘He had to gap’

‘YOU CAN’T HANDLE THE GAP!!!’

Re: Just heard on CNN (so it’s true)

u mean u missed it?

if CNN gets excited about a couple of 3ballers,
can u imagine how much 5balls must increase your brain ?!

Re: Re: Just heard on CNN (so it’s true)

People should be warned! If they master too many balls their brains may explode!

Phil

Re: Re: Re: Just heard on CNN (so it’s true)