Introduction - Comfort is a pain in the ass

Hello everyone, I’m Jormungandr. I’ve been unicycling for for 7 years, but I don’t get the chance to ride around regularly, so I’m not very good and can’t do tricks.

Over the next 12 months, I will be working on a unicycling project which will be submitted to an examiner. I intend to improve the comfortability of unicycling, which for me is all about the saddle, because I’m pretty bony and the seat crushes my pelvis bone and crotch at the same time. What’s the biggest issue regarding comfort for you? Do you have the same problem I do?

My main problem (by far) is friction induced irritations on the inside of the cheeks. It happens on long to very long rides (6-8 hours and more).

1 Like

I have had the same issues over the last years. It was mainly due to the banana shape of the usual unicycle seat. Using a Fusion One seat with a t-bar helped a lot, but it was not a panacea. I still had irritations issues such as Aurelien.

It’s now been almost 2 months since I have put an ISM saddle on my G36er. Although the first weeks have been hard - time to accommodate to the saddle -, my last rides make me say that it may be the best solution so far. No soreness, no irritation. I still have not done a long flat ride though. But I have done a similar 120 km/4 000+ m of elevation gain last year and this year and I had far less issues this year.
I plan to go for a ~12 hours flat ride in the next days to check whether the saddle is really as great as I currently perceive it :crossed_fingers:

2 Likes

Exactly. Main comfort issue for general riding is the (wide) shape of a regular unicycle saddle - and to some extent that almost all your body weight is on the saddle.
The fix is to use a nice (narrow) bicycle saddle and a handlebar to put less weight on the saddle and more weight on your wrist (but obviously you need the skill to ride with both hands on the saddle most of the time).