Inspiration

My wife sent me this cartoon as a joke (my real name is Jim).
So I ordered a Nimbus 29".
I guess the joke is on me…

Chief
“50+ learning to ride”

Welcome to the forum Jim. And there’s lots of older people here. :slight_smile:

Just one thing, I hope you are not learning on a 29er…

I realize learning on a 20 or 24 would have been more prudent…
Chief

Ok, get yourself a regular 20 (or 24) inch uni too and start on that. It’s not too late! It will be much better for you in terms of speed, falling and confidence to learn on a smaller wheel. Oh, and learning to freemount on a 20 inch uni will be infinitely easier than learning on a 29er.

I think that is good advice-- I posted a “wanted” add in the trader section plus I’ll look around on craigslist.
Chief

I am a beginner (50 year old beginner) and have started practicing on a DRS:
https://www.municycle.com.au/catalogue/UNI-DRS-EXP-20-WHT_item.html?ref_cat_id=Learner20
It was $135 AUD, and so far has taken hundreds of drops whilst I have been learning. Aboslutely no issues with this uni, other than breaking a small chunk off the pedal.
I gaffer taped some cardboard around the nose of the seat to protect it from getting scratched up but this was probably not needed.

Good on you BHChieftain…
There is LOTs of great advice on here.

I started practicing my riding about 12 days ago and my initial thoughts were that this is going to be almost ‘IMPOSSIBLE’ to do.

However, I have been able to crank out about 10 pedal strokes on several occasions now before falling off the front… It is all muscle memory, however my mental cues are:

1. Look up and forward
  2. Breath in and lean slighty forward while starting to pedal (I seem to go better when my lungs are full of air and it helps make my upper body more upright)
  3. shoulders back and down
  4. Feel the seat, sit heavy in the seat (dont take the weight on your legs)