I'm finished riding for a long long time

15th December I had my last ride for a long time before heading for surgery same day to reattached some tendons to my shoulder.

I have been riding for a couple of months in a sling but now, post op, I am off the uni for, I’d guess, anything from 3 to 6 months.

Which is really tough for me as I ride daily, managing just short of 5,100km for 2001 despite the injury.

Better luck to the rest of you, have a great festive season and have a ride or two for me.

(And I certainly will not be looking to increase my wheel size (24") or add gearing as any falls other than a UPD to my feet will be a big no no until this time next year. Who needs gears and big wheels when you have time anyway!)

Colin, I wish you a speedy recovery and hopefully you will be wheeling it in 3 months or less. I feel your pain.

Bad luck Colin but I hope the surgery goes without a hitch and you’re back in the saddle before you know it. I had shoulder surgery recently ( a sub-acromal decompression amongst other things) and was back in the saddle within a month. :smiley:

I feel your ‘pain’. I’m at just about 9 months with almost no riding trying to get my knees healthy enough to ride again. It was really hard the first few months since riding everyday was what I looked forward to everyday.

Good luck, and wishes for a speedy recovery.

I wish - Your conidition would have been what is often termed “impingement syndrone” which is very real and debilitating but these days readily fixed. I’ve had two acromioplastys done, one just incidental while the major stuff was going on, a follow up a few years later.

But I’m afraid that tendon on bone is a beast that can’t be rushed.

btw, the acromio’s worked really well, and I could work overhead again as a result. More people should have it done.

The commutes just will not be the same …