Hydration Packs

Hello Everyone, I’m new to unicycling and was wondering your thoughts on carrying water on rides. Seems like it would be more difficult to ride with a backpack style as opposed to a lumber pack or just mounting cages on the unicycle. Thanks

I have tried all three options you listed, plus one more. The fourth option is holding a 500-750ml bottle in one hand.

Very often, for rides less than 2 miles, I just hold a bottle of water in one hand. This is my normal option for my 24", unless I am riding with my dog.

When I ride with my dog on the 24", I wear a lumbar pack with three 20-ounce (590ML) water bottles in it. I also hang a collapsible dog water bowl from the lumbar pack. Since my dog and I drink at the same time, it is not a bother to have to open the lumbar pack to access the water. Once, a dog bowl caught the saddle during a UPD, and it was ripped off of the lumbar pack. This is the downside of hanging the bowl from the lumbar pack.

I have two bottle cages on my 36", which works well. However, I had to re-learn to free-mount. It makes the unicycle “top-heavy”, which comes into play when mounting, or when walking and pushing the unicycle in front of you. Also, I do not drink while riding with the bottle cages. Currently, trying to do that is a UPD-in-waiting. I have found that water bottles made by Polar with the surge cap work very well. Be prepared to retrieve the water bottles after a fast UPD, though. My water bottles are attached to my T7 handlebar, so the bottles hang parallel with the ground.