Howdy from Kentucky! What unicycle should I get next?

What’s your name?
Jonathan

Where do you come from?
Louisville, Ky

What is your experience of unicycling?

I have been riding sporadically since I was in middle school (2010). I taught myself how to ride on a weird 16" uni and I have since moved on to an old 20" and a cheap Torker 24".

I am entirely self taught and I just recently realized that I have been free mounting wrong this whole time. I have been starting with my pedals in the 12/6 o’clock position instead of a 9/3 position. As soon as I converted to the 9/3 I became drastically more consistent at mounting my unicycle! I also just went from 180mm cranks to 114mm and for my short legs it has made a marvelous difference in my smoothness. I have discovered any cranks bigger than 150mm seem cause me to have a sort of hitch in my pedal stroke.

What unicycle should I get next?

I have been riding daily for the last month or so and I am looking to purchase a larger unicycle. My goal is to be able to go on 5+ mile rides and it just feels like that is not super feasible (at least in terms of comfort) on my 24". I am considering purchasing the Nimbus 29", is this a wise choice? Is there a noticeable difference between the Nimbus 29 and the UDC 29? I am very interested in the 36" unis, but for my skill level it seems like the 29 may be a more practical ride for the next year or two.

Before I buy a new unicycle I want to maintain my consistent rides for the next month or two and I am hoping to be able to consistently go 3-5 miles. I am considering upgrading my saddle though. Would it be wise to purchase the KH Freeride saddle now (i.e. will it work on my Torker)? Or should I just suck it up and wait until I get a new uni?

4 Likes

Welcome!! Glad to read your story.