How to ride 800 meters, and beyond

I have been practicing regularly on my unicycle for over 3 years now and I am still a beginner. Riding is still very limited with very short distances, usually between 50 and 100 meters. I’ve tried many times to freemount, but to no avail. Fortunately, I have plenty of lampposts around here that I can use, although even that is a struggle now and then, especially if I haven’t practiced for a while. A practice session for me consists of riding away from the pole until I am forced to dismount, I walk back, catch my breath and try again and that a number of times in a row.

I signed up for the 800 meters at the Dutch Unicycling Nationals later this month and for that I practice very regularly, but I just can’t manage to get even close to that distance. Based on the experiences of other unicyclists, getting better is a matter of practice and at some point you should be able to ride as far as you want. But that doesn’t seem to work for me. I think I should practice in a different way, but I have no idea how. The obvious things like correct saddle height and correct tire pressure should all be fine. Does anyone have an idea what else I can try?

Any way you could take a video of yourself riding and post it here? (Alternatively, if you don’t feel comfortable sharing your riding with the whole world, you could PM it time and maybe others who are willing to help).
It sounds like you have the basics of keeping balance down, so my first guess would be that you are loosing focus, but maybe there is something correctable in your technique we can spot.
Something I have used for kids that had similar problems as you, is walking/running/riding along slightly in front of them, as a “moving target”. I think sometimes that would help break the “habit” of falling of at the same distance by continuously giving them a new goal. Maybe you can employ someone’s help and try something similar.