How to hop up on curbs or obstacles?

Hello, i’ve been unicycling for almost 3 months now. I ride a 19" trials and 27.5" muni.
So far i can hop both of these unicycles in place no problem.
I usually do hopping sets where I’ll hop in place and do 2 circles, then ride about 30 meters, then hop for 2 circles. I normally do 10 of these hops in a set.
Now recently I’m trying to hop up curbs. But I can’t seem to get the height and control to get that big hop.
Any advice on how to progress from where i am now?
Thank you.

I’m not sure what exactly you mean by “hop for 2 circles”, so you might be doing some of this already:

Step 1: is learning to control the direction of your hops. Left, right, forward, backward, spinning clockwise, counterclockwise, try them all. Also try hopping, “standstill” while leaning towards one side, then hop towards there.
Step 2: is introducing a very small obstacle. Maybe even just a line on the ground, or a jumping rope lying on the ground. Ride towards it, hop in place next to it to position yourself, jump over it. Sideways towards the hand that is not on the seat is easiest (and what you wan’t to do for most trials riding), but at this stage doing a bit of everything is good to learn control. You want to find the perfect position and balance, stop hopping, lean towards the obstacle, then do a bigger hop onto/over it.
Step 3: Make the obstacle bigger. Wooden boards, pallets, pavement slabs, low curbs, whatever you can find. Really just tiny increments, it might feel silly going from 1 inch to 1.5 inch to 2 inch etc. , but you’ll learn a lot more from that than setting too big of a goal and failing constantly.

2 Likes

Ok the way how you broke it down. I’m doing Step 1 a lot now. I can hop in one place (as long as i want until i get tired…about a minute), i can hop doing circles, i can hop towards the direction i want to go. I can hop up on 2-3" heights.
But when it comes to 5" plus heights…that I can’t do.