how do you hop on a uni

I have been unicycling for about 2 months I have just learned to free mount and I’ve been thinking about mountain unicycling but I just can’t get the hang of hopping yet, any tips?

All sorts of tutorials out there - you could do worse than start with

• also check out her other videos. She does a much better job of explaining than I ever could.

Though I can hop fairly well (have cleared 10" on my trials uni), it’s actually something I still rarely use for muni - when I started riding muni I’m fairly sure I did no hopping at all, and probably couldn’t even hop. So don’t let that inability put you off going out for an off-road ride - just start with something easy where you have no need at all for hopping.

Same boat, started muni before I knew how to hop.

Pedal slow, when the cranks are horizontal, stand up, grab the seat and go to pogo stick mode. I RARELY hop around like that on trails, but you’ll get the idea. You’ll be set up for the “bunny hop” motion after you get this down, and youll be able to launch no matter where the cranks are.

I’m in the same boat, for the most part.
I can hop a little bit, and when I say a little bit I mean 4-5" at most. I can hop sideways up curbs, but not consistently. And I definitely can’t hop while riding. For me it seems to be mostly a confidence thing. My brain likes to focus on the awful things that might happen if I screw up. (Most of which will not happen, but I blame my mother for this one)