how do you glide/coast

ive got the hang of wheel walking and now i want to learn to coast and glide any pointers¿

Well, I am no expert on either one, but I like posting things, so here goes…

To learn gliding, first make sure wheel walking is really solid, then learn one footed wheel walking until that is really solid, and then you can begin working on gliding. Some people recomend just one footed wheel walking down a hill, however, I found it easier to do in a level area. The trick is to learn to let the wheel slip without pushing it, and continue to increase the distance you can do this, until finally you can go quite a ways (especially if you switch to it directly from riding). Some one else will probably come along with more pointers soon, or check at http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/The_Unicyclopedia:Freestyle

coasting is a completely different skill, entirely unrelated to wheel walking and gliding (maybe not entirely… ) the best method I know of for learning this skill is to get really good at one footed riding, and then sometime when you feel stable, take your other foot off the pedal. Even though you will most likely just fall off imediately, theoretically, if you practice enough, it will eventually start to work quite well.

Both of those skill are quite a challenge for most people (exceptionally gifted people excepted), but keep with them, and eventually they will become easier. Good luck and have fun!

Before learning gliding and coasting, you may like to work on pull gliding and pull coasting.

Before learning gliding you will definately want to learn to one foot wheel walk.

I will describe pull gliding as the instructions are very similar for pull coasting. The advantage of pull gliding is that you get the “feel” of gliding while still having an extra bit of support. I’ve used this technique to help people begin learning gliding and it gives them a bit of a head start.