Hi From Adelaide Australia

Hi All…

I haven’t said hello and introduced myself yet, so hello I am wobblysteve from Adelaide Australia.
I have to say there are so many helpful people on this forum. I have already posted some other things, probably should have made a post like this first but was keen to find out about getting started. Lots of really good advice on here that’s for sure.
I am new to Unicycling and recently bought a DRS Solo from unicycle.com.
I have been practicing every day for 15 minutes to an hour on grass and also on a concrete path against a wall.
My best effort was 14 pedals before falling off.
It is getting easier, although progress is very inconsistent. Just a simple things like knowing where to position the pedals when getting on and generally getting used to sitting on the Uni are becoming easier.
I have been at it for about 10 days…

Welcome Wobblysteve nice to meet another Australian even if you’re in another state. You also got a good quality uni to practise on, I bought the ALDI one and I pretty much rode it into the ground. Sounds like you’re making progress, really just need to keep at it. The fact you’re practising daily is a huge help and it won’t be long before it all clicks into place.

Right now you’re just learning how to ride more efficiently as you are getting the basics. At this point try not to ride along a wall at all, just mount up at a wall or post and just go for it. Sure you’ll fall a lot, sometimes you’ll go 10 feet and other times only 2 feet. It took me 3 weeks before I could ride it up to 100 meters without a UPD.

One thing about unis that is handy is they’re so small so don’t be afraid to throw it in the car and go somewhere completely different and practise. Maybe a change of scenery can help. I initially learned mostly at the same place and I still go back there occasionally but I did mix it up and take it to many different places. Especially once I could ride for a bit.