help on wheel walking

Im trying to practice wheel walking on my freestyle 20" uni. Im having the hardest time! any advise??

Try it alongside a fence. You can take your time and get your feet used to not interfering with one another.

Practice practice practice.

go a LOT slower than you think you should, and lean back.
Oh, and use a fence like UTurn suggested.

How I wheel walk

heres the easiest way to wheel walk. i did it in about 3 minutes!

George, that didn’t work because it’s a file on your computer. When you’re replying, at the bottom there’s an option to attach a file, and you need to click Browse… and then select the picture and attach it.

heres the easiest way to wheel walk. i did it in about 3 minutes

ww.jpg

Lol, nice picture.

Anyway, the main key to wheel walking is practice and more practice.

When i started learning i just went straight off a wall and pushed hard. This was probably not a good thing to do. Take a bit of time wheel walking against a wall to get feeling of moving the tire with the feet. When you’re ready just go from a wall and see how far you go.

A few tips:

• Slow it down! At the start you probably have to push really fast just to stay on. As you get a bit more competent slow down the feet. Proper wheel walking is actually done guite slow but the walker has heaps of control of the wheel and is well balanced.

• Lean back: At the start i found i was falling forwards a lot as to keep on i had to go really fast (see above). Sit up with a straight back and lean back more than you think you need to.

• Shoes make a great difference when it comes to wheel walking.
    You want shoes that are tight fiting and have a slightly flexible sole. If you try in loose floopy shoes you will get no where. I started learning in loose skate shoes and when i switched to tight fiting tennis shoes i double my best distance first time.

More than anything, wheel walking requires practise.