good distance cycles?

hey guys, i was thinkin of riding this years la marathon on a uni. i currently own a 20 and a 24 inch, plus a 20inch giraffe. i was looking on unicycle.com for some distance cycles, what are your favs? i was thinking either a coker or something with a 29". whats your preferred tire widthe and crank length? thanks

I don’t think most organized foot races would be too happy about having a unicyclist involved. You probably should ask first; maybe you can go with the wheelchairs.

If I were riding in a big crowd of runners, I would want a 29er rather than a Coker, just for manuverability. I really like 125s on a 29er, but 150s might be more appropriate to the speed.

la marathon has a seperate marathon for runners, bikers, and wheelchair. ive been biking it for past 6 years and have seen a few unis, scooters, and other various wheeled objects

When is it this year? Are you gonna ride in the 50 mile bike part or is there a 26 mile route that they would allow unicycles in?

I’d do it.

Nimbus 29er! I got one two days ago and I LOVE it. There is nothing bad about it at all, go for it! :slight_smile:

OR a coker. Coker is awesome.

(and I don’t even have one. I’m just jealous of my brother.)

Ah. So if it’s a bike ride (hardly a marathon at 26 miles on bike), either a short-crank 29er or a Coker would do you well. That kind of distance should be reasonably doable on either configuration, as long as you’ve done a moderate amount of training.

its on march 19th, the bike route is something like 22 miles. you should go man, another bud of mine might uni it with me, thatd be great to have a group of us haha.

http://www.acuralabiketour.com/

yeah its not that much of a challenge, but its a great experience. the streets are all closed off and its really quiet out (middle of LA), the race starts at 6am right when the suns comin out, and its way beautiful. theres also like 26,000 people its insane.

The best combination for you will depend on a few factors: