Glide

I’ve been riding for about 9 years (since 1996) and in the year 2000 I read on the internet about unicycle gliding and thought to myself “I’ll never be able to do that- it looks too hard”. I read the advice about learning wheel walking and one footed wheel walking before gliding, and put it away in the back of my mind for future reference. I’ve been wheel walking for quite a few months- I can’t remember when I started but I got pretty comfortable with wheel walking before even trying one footed wheel walking. I was surprised at how easy one footed wheel walking is once I purchased a freestyle/learners unicycle and started practising. About 3 or 4 days ago I was practising down a hill, when suddenly I was gliding without even meaning to. I think it was a culmination of all sorts of transferrable skills from other areas of unicycling balance, which made it so easy. Within minutes of practising gliding I could do about 20-30 meters. Now I can do 100+ meters and I’m addicted cos it is so much fun.

If I can do it- anyone can do it! If you have always wanted to glide- I suggest getting a trials or freestyle unicycle and start practising the wheel walking. You will be surprised at how easy it is if you build your skills step by step. When you get the one footed wheel walking find yourself a nice smooth hill to practise down and gliding should just follow. I’m sure there have been plenty of other similar inspirational threads like this, but I guess when it happens to you it seems different. Yesterday, Ben also learned to glide- he saw me doing it and decided it would be easy- and it was for him too!

Whooooohoooo!

nice. hopefully this summer i’ll have some time/effort to invest into the progression needed for that skill.

After so many years, being able to sit back and go down a hil without pedaling is nice.