Freewheel tips

I’m starting learning freewheeling (I’m a newbie/low level unicyclist). Is it ok that I’m freewheeling at every half stroke even if I’m always braking at medium level? I also fall every half stroke :o
Do I need to go faster (braking less/pedaling more)? Is there a way to go slow (I’m a bit scared).
I use a 29" with disc brake

You have a freewheeling unicycle? Never tried one. However, common sense says that smooth and reasonably fast with a little speed in reserve will be easier than wobbling along from pedal stroke to pedal stroke. In all unicycling, it helps to go at things confidently, but to have enough left that you can accelerate out of a potential UPD. In all unicycling, riding slowly requires more and bigger corrective actions because something that is rolling smoothly and fast has dynamic stability.

Never tried a freewheel and maybe never will but here are my observations.

My impression is that freewheel riders have the frame angled further back (and lean their body correspondingly further forward to keep the centre of mass above the contact point) than an ordinary rider. This increases the available range where where the system is quasi-stable.

Note how retarding with reverse thrust tends to lift the rider out of the saddle. Retarding with a brake rotates the whole system forwards so you have to compensate more by using you weight against the rotation by leaning the frame back too.

During the freewheel without the brake you can’t slow down the wheel so you are forced to adjust your lean instead. Much of the balance comes from bobbing up and down to move your centre of mass backwards and forwards relative to the wheel.

Arms move from out in front to up in the air to increase the range of available movement of the centre of mass. It is like when you used your arms for side balance when you learnt to ride the normal uni except it is fore and aft. Eventually you do it mainly with your hips instead.