Free mounting

Im learning to freemount and im still getting the hang of it. I managed to Free mount a couple times but im still struggleing! Please reply if you have any tips for me.

Courtesy of Mikefule , copied a year or so ago :

I was self taught and never saw another unicyclist for 15 years, and
never got my freemounting to 100%. Then I met a few other unicyclists,
and learned developed this technique, which is just sooooo much easier
and more reliable:

Put the pedals with the near crank slightly below horizontal. I
normally have the left pedal in this position, which means that when I
mount, my right foot is slightly above horizontal, which is ideal for
that first power stroke.

Now put the seat ‘in position’ but without putting any substantial
amount of weight on it.

Hold the front of the seat. I hold it with my right hand.

Now, get the feel for this:

Push the unicycle very slightly forward, and the near pedal will rise.
As it rises, apply gentle pressure with your foot to stop it.

Do this lots of times. Get the timing right. Your foot should stop the
pedal just short of the horizontal position. You have only pushed the
wheel forward a few inches.

Now for the next stage…

Push the uni forwards, gently but firmly stop the pedal rising and in
one smooth movement, step up onto the uni. What should happen is that
in that moment when your foot stops the pedal rising, the wheel is
‘locked’ so there is no rollback and no ‘rollaway’ either.

Aim to get that other foot on that front pedal before you put all your
weight on the saddle.

Almost inevitably, there will be an element of rollback, but this will
be only an inch or so. But because of the positions of the pedals, the
front pedal is coming straight towards the sole of your foot, so it’s
easy to get your foot into position.

So, as your front foot hits the pedal, there will be a moment when
everything is fairly still, and you lower yourself into the saddle and
ride away.