Fixie advice required

Hi all, i’m very new to this and still learning, but due to work and life commitments I dont get much time to learn.
As such i’m thinking about making a fixie bike to commute on as I am led to believe this can help with uni stamina. Is this true?

If so, can anyone point me in the direction of information on fixie conversions or give me any advice at all?

Many thanks in advance, Mark

I’ve got a fixed gear bike- a ‘charge plug’ I got a couplemof years ago, but I rarely ride it now. In fact I’m wanting to sell it, so, if you’re interested, let me know :slight_smile:

I have to say though, that if you want to improve your unicycling, you should just focus your practice on unicycling- if you’re really short of time, then time spent on a fixie bike is time not spent on the unicycle.

If you let us know what type of unicycle you’ve got and what you want to learn and what kind of level you’re at now, then you’ll get plenty of advice on this board.

My level at the moment is none existent. Wanted one for years but only got one a couple of weeks ago for my birthday. Struggling to get time on it with the kids and work though.
Want to get to a point where I can ride to work (less than 2 mile each way) that way i’ll be learning on my commute.

If I dont get much practice in soon, I will at the summer holidays at least. I work at a college so when the kids are off i’m still at work, but in an almost empty college. Practice time should be easy then.

You just need to stick at it- read up on some good basic tutorials so you get practise safely, then try and get bits of practice where and when you can.

Learning unicycle takes time and patience- probably, for most people, an average of 20 hrs, spread over several weeks, before they’ll be able to ride a small distance.

But, once you’ve got it, you’ve got it for ever.