Dutchie says hi

Hi fellow riders! I’ve been reading this forum for a while now and thought it would be nice to actually join.

I’m Bonnie, age 34, from the Netherlands (Leiden). I’ve been riding a unicycle since 3 months (April). The half-serious idea that I’d like to try it at some point had been on my ‘bucket list’ for years, and in the Covid lockdown slump of this spring I finally decided to follow through. I could use some lightness and fun, and it has definitely brought me that! I’m enjoying it a lot. This forum and youtube have been super helpful for beginner’s instructions and other general uni knowledge, so thank you!

I picked up a second hand 24 inch OnlyOne, a simple learner uni, but it fits my riding goals for the time being. I also infected my significant other with the uni bug: he’s joined me since the early learning stage; we took turns riding holding on to each other’s arm for support, and he got a uni of his own as soon as we could both ride unsupported :slight_smile: so we sometimes ride together.

Now I ride 3-ish times a week for distances up to 6 miles. I’m mostly riding around town and to parks nearby, getting more and more comfortable on the uni and improving general riding skills like handling (sharp) turns, inclines, different surfaces, irregular pavement, (speed)bumps, curbs, dips…

Lately I enjoyed mixing it up with some new destinations. I took the uni on the bus to explore a recreation area a little further away, and I’ve been running some small errands in town. I like how the uni transformed those mundane activities into mini-adventures.

I’m not sure yet where I’ll go from here, but at first I expect to mainly keep on going like this, expanding the distance a bit and incorporating the uni more in daily life. Maybe working on stuff like idling and one-footed riding. And I’m considering to get a 29’er to get some more comfort and speed for rides that are a bit longer.

I’m looking forward to joining the conversations on this forum!