Does a good saddle help one learn idling and freemounting more easily?

I haven’t had much success with these important skills till now. I started riding two years ago but do not ride frequently. The seat of my UDC Club 24" is pretty stiff, something which becomes all the more bothersome while practicing those particular skills. I am wondering whether the investment in a more comfortable seat would be helpful in this respect as well as in overall performance.

It sounds to me like you need motivation not a new saddle. The UDC Club 24 is a fine unicycle, but maybe you need to invest in a great unicycle.

I’ve gotta agree with saddlepunk, the UDC 24" is a fine unicycle, I wore mine out til the hub bust from hopping around everywhere, but I loved that thing :slight_smile:

I would be wary about buying new parts to try and spark interest, it may get you motivated for a little while but without simply enjoying trying to learn idling, learn freemounting and learn all the little sub skills of unicycling you’re unlikely to keep doing it for that long!

Edit: 2 years! I missed that bit, well, speaking honestly freemounting and idling is something I would have thought people would get in the first month or two of riding so I’m not sure what advice to give! good luck.

For most people learning to ride a unicycle means spending a lot of time getting nowhere before seeing much success. If this was your experience then you’ll remember how satisfying it was to finally get a few revolutions and then, with practice, learn to ride farther and farther. Learning to freemount and idle (and pretty much any other unicycling skill) follows the same pattern.

I also learned to ride a little more than two years ago on a 24" Club from UDC, which I still have (though it’s being loaned to a friend).