Cranky

I just set about pulling off the cranks on my 24" Nimbus whatever, because the bearings were noisy and needed changing out. The crank removal tool has this removable tip (God knows why it is removable, and only held on by a small internal o-ring! “Pack-tool CCP-22”, avoid it like the plague.) On the first crank, the tip buried itself halfway into the axle thread, and had to be wrenched out with Vise-Grips.

On the second crank it buried itself ALL the way into the axle thread, and nothing will get the bastard out, short of welding something to it so it can be pulled out. Which I am not going to do. So, now I have a ruined hub and a ruined crank puller. There is nothing worse than shitty tools and bad design. Or did I do something wrong? I used to be a bike mechanic back in my college days, but that was in another century.

Does your Nimbus whatever have an ISIS hub? If so, you need the CCP-44 tool.

Sounds like if you buried the tool ALL the way into the axle thread, you may be correct. The hub and puller may be destroyed.
The correct tool for a ISIS crank is a Park Tool CCP-44 Spline Crank Puller. The CCP-22 may have worked with a correctly sized washer or spacer over the end of the axle.

Thank you both for pointing out the correct tool. I just realized that there is still one ray of hope left: I can try one of those screw extractors, screw it into the opening of the stuck tip and try to back it out of the axle threads. The proverbial Hail Mary pass, no? I do feel like an idiot for thinking that all crank pullers are alike.

This worked well for me even though the washers were destroyed in the process. I didn’t have a ISIS crank puller around, only the one for cotterless.

Some tools have a removable tip to replace it by one that’s compatible with ISIS.

Yes, an ‘easy-out’ might get it out if you can get it to take a hold. Hopefully you can get one that works.