Confidence Dips

It’s an odd topic perhaps, and I’m aware practice and riding often are going to likely be the biggest cures.

But do others find from time to time their riding confidence just disappears?

I mean my actual ability seems relatively intact —but I’m riding without much enjoyment or confidence and the brain is engaged solely with thinking and imagining all the worst case scenarios of falls and wotnot.

I’ve been riding for nearly 10 years and I have had my ups and downs and a fair few moments where a skill seems to elude me - to finally click when I’d pushed myself beyond a fear block or energy limit.

I should say that naturally energy is often key - and as a type 1 diabetic blood sugars that are up or down cause me to not be focused as well as I would when they are themselves “balanced”…

But it is weird how some days I ride my G26er - as recently as Jan 1st and I was in the zone, flying along and totally confident - and for instance today I didn’t feel in the zone even in 1:1 gear. Madness I know!

I have made a promise to myself to never quit unicycle or sell a wheel - and I’ve in fact just dropped more £ on two schlumpfs (!)…

But I do recognise that skills can go up and down and one can have an “off-day” - and relearning a skill is often a lot hard than learning from scratch.

I am posting to see if others hit this dips in enjoyment or confidence -

I feel very much that unicycling is an honest reflection of many sides of one’s mental and physical balance - and yet it also helps improve both of those things, beautifully.

Pushing myself past the fear and into the zone of body being faster than thought is something I am still (I hope) capable of, but wanted to see what others’ experiences are or this “issue”… and hopefully any tips to trick one back into the happy-unicyclist space :man_in_lotus_position:t2:

:pray:

3 Likes