Coker wheels, Tacos, BMX hubs

I’m a newbie, but am already thinking about my 2nd uni. I was into the 29"s but a friend said, “You have to try a Coker!” So I did and loved it. Then started reading all the ins and outs of rims/spokes/hubs on the forums: steel v. aluminum, heavy v. light, Airfoils and Stocktons, etc.

But when I started thinking about rims collapsing it made me think back to my youth (a long time ago) when the first BMX bikes came out – they didn’t have skinny spokes, they had big 5 or 7 spoke aluminum/alloy rims, sometimes with intricate patterns.

This made me wonder why someone is not doing the same with the Coker. Couldn’t a similar type of rim be built that would be super-strong and look cool? (Obviously it would require an equally strong hub).

If the issue is weight, I’m guessing that a bmx-type rim would weigh more, but no more than a steel rim (which some people prefer for the extra mass, and thus momentum it generates) while being way stronger, maybe even stronger than the “Strongest Wheel”.

Interested in hearing thoughts/comments.

jim

A well-built spoked wheel is actually extremely strong, certainly for its weight. It does have to be well-built though to get the best out of it.
I would guess the “mag” style cast wheels would have to be much heavier than a spoked wheel before they would be stronger. If they were produced in large enough quantities (unlikely with coker wheels) they could probably be cheaper than a spoked wheel by a top builder like Dave Stockton, but I’m not convinced they would be better than an average spoked wheel - apart from the unusual look.
Spoked wheels also have the advantage that any slight misalignment can be easily adjusted out - quite important on such a big wheel.
Sorry to be so pessimistic, but I’m not convinced - there’s a reason those BMX wheels died out.

Rob