Cadence

Perhaps this has been covered before, but if so, I can’t find it.

I am astounded how tired my legs get and how fast they get tired when riding on a level bike path. Yes, I am a relative beginner and I understand that pedaling efficiency takes time. I’m working on it, but after about 1/3 of a mile, it’s time to get off before I fall (and not a simple UPD either).

Today, I thought about cadence and what is appropriate/usual. On a bike, I naturally settle into a cadence of about 80rpm. On the unicycle today, it seemed like it was closer to 100 (although I was too preoccupied to measure it :grinning:).

What is normal pedaling cadence on a unicycle while just cruising? Should I be pedaling faster?

If it makes a difference, this is on a 24” uni with 150mm cranks.

Thanks much for the help,

John

It sounds to me that your experience is normal, and two items can be attributed to being a beginner.

1. Tired Legs
    In the beginning, you will likely place almost as much downward pressure on the back pedals as you place on the front pedals, in order to stay balanced. This causes your legs to get overly tired. The best piece of advice I received with regard to this, is to focus on lifting your back foot. Your front foot will naturally push down on the front pedal.

2. Cadence
    I don’t know what a “normal” cadence is for a unicycle, but it will be affected by wheel size, crank length, comfort with speed, and experience level of the rider.

My experience is that in the beginning, speed and high cadence was necessary to allow me to stay balanced, and was easier than trying to ride slow. As my experience level increased, I was able ride slower while also placing less pressure on the back pedal. Then as my experience level increased even more, I was able to increase the pedal cadence (and speed) as necessary or desired. This has been the case each time I have added a larger wheel to unicycle roster.