Building up my wind and endurance

I’ve been riding for 6 months. I moved from tennis courts to empty stadium parking lots. Fewer annoying tennis players. Despite riding for an hour a day, I could never go farther than a few blocks. My wind would give out. I’d stop and be gasping for air. I’m definitely not a runner, but I do carry 40 pound backpacks when I go rock climbing…so my lack of endurance was puzzling.

I’ve been on a plateau for months. Like…zero improvement. It was fun and all, trying to focus in on the moment, more weight on the seat, less arm flailing. But progress was so slow I considered giving it up, like maybe I was just too old and clumsy.

Just in the last week though, the stadium had some games so I returned to the tennis court where I learned. I rode around once, had some power and headed into another lap. On my third lap I was still strong so I kept going…and going. I lost count of how many laps I did but suddenly I realized I could basically ride as long as I wanted. I’d broken through the ‘glass ceiling’ and it felt (almost) like a regular bicycle. It was easy and I was riding with grace.

Still can’t free mount, but at this point I don’t care.
Here is a minute from my two mile, 50 minute ride today. This is my first time riding on a public bike path. No animals (or humans) were harmed in the making of this video.

12 Likes

At least for the riding I see in your video I’d say it would be much easier with much shorter cranks. On my 36er I use 109mm cranks and find I can cruse for hours on end with little effort.

2 Likes

Great work, it’s so liberating when you can ride anywhere :+1:

1 Like

Nicely done! Plateaus are frustrating but it always feels great once you break out of it. Which is also funny how it happens because like you mention, it kind of just happens after a while. I feel like I’ve also been hitting a plateau in my riding so maybe I’ll go find a tennis court too, ha!

1 Like

Your riding well.