Brake on a 20" Trials?

Maybe there is good reason for one. But why a brake on a 20"?
Forgive me if this is a dumb question as I’m still kinda new to the unicycle scene.

Not really that important, but useful for riding down steep walls/railings to do it smoothly/in control. Generally can be useful when riding skinny’s. But definately not needed, and never seen one rider with them on a trials uni.
aaron

I don’t know about you but I would be a much better rider if I had enough control to use a brake while riding steep skinnies.

A brake on a trials uni isn’t really a great idea, since it really just turns into extra weight to haul during hops, but then again if you ride a 20" for muni, it could be useful.

…and using a brake while hopping just doesn’t work (for most of us anyway). You do some many more subtle forwards/backwards corrections than you might think.

Andrew

I have never seen anyone use a brake on a trials uni. It could be handy for some speicalized situations. For example if you were hopping up a steep narrow ramp with the wheel inline with the ramp (not perpendicular to the ramp) you could lock the wheel with the brake to make that kind of a move possible. The other situation where it might be useful would be riding down a steep narrow skinny. Mostly there are only a few special situations where a brake would be useful and many situations where the brake would be just getting in the way. The other problem is that you are guaranteed to break the brake lever a few times when the uni drops on something after a UPD.

The KH Pro trials uni has Magura brake mounts and I think the 2005 Qu-ax trails uni has Magura brake mounts. Those are the only trials unis I’m aware of that have brake mounts.

It’s neat that they have the brake mounts because that means that someone may experiment with doing trials moves that require the use of the brake. It’s an option for experimentation. But for practical purposes I don’t see a brake being useful on a trials uni.