Best Unicycle for Commuting?

Hi!

What is the best unicycle for commuting? I’d like to buy a uni when I’m studying here in Ireland (26 or 29er). What are your thoughts/experiences/suggestions?

Thank you so much!
~ Cedar

1 Like

This is a 29er. It’s only slightly bigger than a 27.5 with a plus wheel. Funny thing though, on the flat straights, I still wish I could go a bit faster!

2 Likes

As big a wheel as you are comfortable with! Aim for short cranks as well if you are confident (should be fine if you already muni). For most situations 125/127mm would be the longest I would consider for commuting on any wheel size.

I think that’s the case with any ungeared unicycle. It’s all about compromise :frowning:

2 Likes

How far is your commute?

I’m a Big 29er fan for road riding. It gets me around at 7.5 to 8.5 mph on average and it is easy to mount, and control. Get it set up with the right tire a set of 125 cranks a T bar and a saddle you can sit in for an extended period of time and your set… I’m quite content with that set up and speed,

1 Like

What he said. :arrow_up:

1 Like

I’ve never commuted by unicycle, but I do have a 36er and a 27.5 muni. The 36er is way, way easier to ride in terms of effort. It’s also trickier to master just about any skill on and may be too big for a lot of cars or to take on mass transit or to keep in a cubicle or lecture hall. If I were to be setting up a uni for a commute under 6 km or so, I think I would go for a 29er with a 2.35" Big Apple tire. I might also replace the bolts with security bolts so that someone doesn’t steal your frame or saddle if you leave it locked up. I don’t imagine there’s much of a stolen unicycle market out there, but sometimes it seems like thieves steal things just because they can.

1 Like

I didn’t like the big apple tyre on the 29er, I had to always twist too much for camber… now using a hookworm 2.5", and it seems better to me.

2 Likes