Best size for a freewheel?

Hey guys. I’m building a freewheel unicycle but am unsure of what size is the best for starting out. I’ve checked out the freewheel mega thread but couldn’t find too much on this subject. I’m pretty much a newbie when it comes to freewheels, as the only time I’ve ever tried one out was for a few minutes at an event. Any tips for the best size to start out on? I’d love to have a 29” or even 36” freewheel for when I get used to it so I can use it as a fun road uni, but I’m afraid that 29” might be too much to start out on. Is a 26” a good size? Does size even matter when it comes to how fun/fast/stable a freewheel is to ride?

3 Likes

Hi oridemic

I’m just starting out on my first freewheel which I’m going to build into a 27.5”

I will be interested in hearing what sizes others suggest for first one. I was thinking of starting on 20” using a cheap second hand bmx wheel.