Beginner wanting to ride a Coker

I am a 55 year-old beginner. I am practising indoors until spring on a 26"
unicycle. I feel confident I can pass Level 1 before spring (and maybe
Level 2).

(1) At what unicycling level do I need to be in order to ride a Coker?

(2) Do I need to ride a 29’er proficiently first or is riding the Coker
straight-away a reasonable idea?

Thank you for your attention to these beginner questions.

Fritz Lott
220 Sunnyridge Lane
Golden Valley, MN 55422-5300

Get comfortable on your 26r.

The Coker is not ‘that much of a beast’ it just takes different style, and more time to master.

No need to take the intermediate 29r.

I agree with Sofa
Before I purchases my Coker, I only had experience on my 24’’ MUni and a 20’’. Takes a bit of getting used to the coker, but its worth the time.

Scott Kurland who, as I have posted before, is a personal hero of mine, learned to ride on a Coker. I mean, that was his first unicycle. I believe this is a feat yet to be equaled. Scott used to post here every so often but eventually we offended him enough times that he went away. His experience prompts me to ask, why wait?

Why wait getting offended? Why wait going away? You have offended me. I’m going away!

http://www.unicyclist.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=30134

Re: Beginner wanting to ride a Coker

A Coker will feel really fast and scary at first, especially on hills. It doesn’t take too long to get used to, but you may want to get some longer cranks initially, until you become more confident. 150mm or 170mm cranks are quite good to start with, and they also make for great off-road Coker cranks later on.

A Coker has a lot more momentum too, so make sure you practice in a wide open space and keep off the road until you can stop it sufficiently.

Other than that, if you’re after a fast long distance uni- I’d say go straight to it and have fun!

Re: Re: Beginner wanting to ride a Coker