"Are you unicycle guy?"

Today Emma accompanied me on her bike to the donut shop. On the way we pass the large empty parking lot for the Middle School. On the return trip home Emma wanted to ride around and I was happy to take the time to practice some hopping and backwards riding.

After about 15 or 20 minutes a kid rides up and shouts, “hey, are you unicycle guy?” Slightly amused, I shouted back, “why yes, but apparently so are you.” Yes, this young man was riding a unicycle, too.

He explained that his folks have seen me riding by many times, but he had yet to spot me. Someone saw me and Emma and told him, so he rode up to meet us.

His unicycle is the ultimate POS. He bought it at Toys R Us. He’s had it for a few months and already parts are loose. The seat may prevent him from ever fathering a child. And the seat post isn’t long enough to accomodate his height by a long shot.

Ok, that’s the bad news. The good news is he rides quite competently, is completely self taught, and although he said he couldn’t, he freemounted without any trouble. He was able to freemount a 24" Schwinn as well.

He’s been on the web and seen the skill levels and has some interest in pursuing those, although he indicated that distance riding is more what he is thinking of.

Anyway, with his parents permission, we’ve exchanged emails and he has my phone number. Looks like I’ll have someone to ride with once in a while. What a blast. I’m sure, given his age, he’ll be riding circles around me in no time.

And tomorrow, the 4th of July, is his birthday and he should be logging on to unicycle.com and getting something a little sturdier. People have seemed happy with their Torkers, so I recommended that as an inexpensive step up from his crappy unicycle. If his folks are feeling a bit more generous who knows what he’ll end up with.

How cool. I didn’t ask if he knew how to juggle.

Raphael Lasar
Matawan, NJ