Any good material for learning to pirouette? Advanced tricks?

Hello everyone!

My name is Harlequin (yes, real). This is my first post here. I’m a writer and podcaster who blows off steam on the unicycle. So happy to see a place solely dedicated to all the weirdos out there riding unicycles. I have a big question, one that probably can be answered by veterans.

I’m starting to get into that addictive phase of having approaching intermediate skill on the unicycle. I can free mount, ride extremely comfortably, idle with one foot, hop up on tall platforms, use my cranks as steps, ride down stairs, take big drops, etc.,

One of the things I’m dying to learn is the pirouette. Yet, I’ve noticed something which I am beginning to suspect is a part of the unicyclist culture. Sort of an unspoken rule, maybe? Like a lot of intermediate and advanced skills, there simply is no source material (or very little) for learning it online in the way of instructional videos. It seems to be very much, “Find your own way,” save for perhaps some written advice from helpful riders on line.

Is this simply because this is such a niche sport or is there a reason why the experts aren’t showing all the noobies how to do advanced tricks on YouTube and such? Maybe I’m just not searching hard enough.

In any case, I would really appreciate if somebody had some material I could watch or learn from before just trying to go into pirouetting and other tricks blind.

Cheers!
Harley

1 Like

Welcome to the forum, and thank you for such a succinct and accurate description of us! :+1: :smile:

(Feel free to give some more info about yourself in the Introduce Yourself section!)

Here is very good past thread:

How long to learn pirouette starting from IUF level 2?

Here are two videos of someone learning. Essentially keep turning smaller and smaller circles till in one place.

2 Likes