Advice on getting into shape

I am rather frustrated right now…

I’ve been riding for about 7 months… One of my goals with riding was to lose weight… When I started riding I was floating between 230 and 235… Now, a half a year later, and I am floating between 230 and 235… (I cleaned up my diet too… I stopped drinking soda’s and tried to generally eat more healthy…)

Two days ago I rode the Flume Trail in Tahoe. Very beautiful ride… I have heard that people like to do it on cokers, so I thought that I should be able to do ok on my 24" muni…

Well, it kicked my butt… It’s now Monday and my legs are still really stiff and sore. I can’t imagine how people would do that ride on cokers (tho watching Terry’s new video gives me some clues…)

I try to ride a half hour to an hour every weekday, and do a longer ride on the weekends… I’ve done 4 somewhat long muni rides (10+ miles) recently and all of them have kicked my butt…

So, I am looking for ways to get into better unicycling shape… Do I just need to keep going at it and hope things come around eventually? Should I try to change my routine some? Do I just have unrealistic expectations? How did you guys progress?

Thanks!

-Keld

maybe take less food intake, my athletic coaches tell me to not just stuff yourself until your about to pop. also try to ride in the morning before you eat breakfast beacause that burns energy from your fat and not the food you just ate. other than that it seems like your doing alot of riding and keep it up.:slight_smile:

muscle is heavier than fat…

Muscle is heavier than fat. That could be part of it.

For me at least, the unicycle weight loss plan has worked.

When I started riding in June 2006, I weighed about 178. I now weigh 159.