A little bit of history of me

Hello, I am Anne, man, 51 years old from the Netherlands and it has been a year since I wanted to start unicycling. The background to this is a long story, but to keep it short: I wanted to start a new hobby and unicycling was an alternative to skateboarding for me. During the year I also discovered this forum, with a lot of great tips.

In January of this year (2018) I started on a Friday evening at one of the few unicycle clubs here. I started practicing along a wall rack in the gym and later along the wall with a borrowed unicycle. And so the Friday night became my regular unicycle night. I noticed that practicing only 1 hour a week was too little to really get ahead, so I wanted to buy my own unicycle to practice outside the club.

In April I was able to pick up my unicycle bought at a webshop during the Dutch Unicycling Championships event in Breda. Then I searched in my neighborhood for a suitable place to practice. In May I discovered that I could practice well on a public basketball court: flat and with a fence around it. There I first started along the fence, but soon I tried to drive completely loose from the posts. Almost every day I practiced a small hour there and at one point I managed to cross the field in length without support.

After a while I start practicing directly in front of my house, starting from a post. That turned out to be a lot trickier, because the walking path in front of my house is not perfectly flat, but that also went better. As a first step towards free mounting, I started to try starting from the curb. In the end, that worked smoothly, but it was now summer and by now it was too hot to practice because of a heat wave and so I stopped for a while.