661 Ankle Braces

I wore these ankle braces for the first time on a 1.5 hour, off-road ride. I had to take out the plastic pieces right away. After about an hour they were really bugging the top of my feet. Anyone use these? Have you had any trouble or have any suggestions for their use? I found them uncomfortable. They are the ones that lace up the front.

661 is pretty good at selling garbage. I have not tried their ankle braces, but I can tell you that going with something like McDavid would have been a better option.

I dont think you are meant to wear any sort of ankle brace unless you have had recent ankle injury, in which case it is going to be uncomfortable anyway. I have been under the impression that using an ankle brace when you are active will actual weaken the ligaments in your ankle.

I used a McDavid brace when I sprained my ankle… I used it to heal, but also would use it as I started riding again. The goal was always to ween off of the brace, as I wanted my ankle to heal strong.

If you are worried about your ankles, rather than just popping them in a brace, you should be doing ankle exercises to increase both balance and strength, as well as the reflexes.

Just thought I would share the info I have… if you are infact using the brace for a sprained ankle then you should not really be all to concerned with comfort. Those things are designed to support a weak ankle… comfort is second priority.

What are you trying to get out of wearing ankle braces? Did you injure your ankle or trying to prevent an injury? Overuse injury? (I have ice on my knee as I type this)