29er crank length?

Hi quick question i know its probably been asked a billion times on here but anyways currently riding my 29er with 150mm cranks and find them ok can cruise pretty well and ride distances up to 9-10 miles with ease atm … i hear the smaller cranks are faster for road riding? Im deciding between 125mm or 114mm?

Suggestions?

Thanks.

I ride 29er with 137 mm cranks: quite smooth pedalling with enough torque to jump.

Thanks i will still go with 125mm as i have ridden 125mm on a 24 muni as was quick enough, on municycle.com.au i cant get 137mm for nimbus cottlerless it appears by the website anyways.

Thanks for the reply :slight_smile:

Thanks,

Might try both out.

Thanks for the reply.

Mine has KH Spirits. 150mm is great for muni and XC, I do 125mm in town and other light XC and it’s pretty cool. If there were no hills around, I think I’d try 110.

Cool I have only ever used 150mm for road so far as I’m just getting into touring/communting. I also do street/trials which I have used 125mm, 127mm and 137mm before.

So I will try the smaller ones for road riding I think, 114mm and 125mm to see how I like it :slight_smile:

On my 29er I used to use 145’s. I was pretty adamant about it, and would shrug off any mention of shorter lengths being better, claiming that I climb/descend too many hills and do too much Muni to shrink them.

2 weeks ago I put on some 125’s, and really, they’re amazing! :smiley: Climbs are no harder, and yet are faster. Descents are slightly tougher though. I can ride all the same terrain I could with 145’s, and have the added benefit of not wobbling all over the place when I pedal fast on-road (And not having my feet hop off the pedals at speed, which is the reason I went shorter to begin with).