Improving ultimate wheel efficiency / endurance?

I’ve been riding my 24" UW for a few months now, for some definition of “riding”. When I manage not to trip myself first, I have to dismount pretty often because of lactic acid burn. Recently I learned to do some short stalls (standing up straight and letting the wheel rest against one leg) that let me recover a little, but my max distance is still probably only around 200 meters.

I imagine a bigger wheel helps a bit, and would make it easier to grab the wheel for stalls and other techniques.

Are there any other major tricks or techniques for improving this? Other than continuing to grind for little gradual efficiency and fitness gains :laughing: ?

1 Like

Other then adding a saddle that you can sit on, I would say there are no major tricks or techniques for improving the efficiency. An UW is simply a very inefficient way to travel and that is the reason there are no long distance UW riders. That is the nature of the beast.

2 Likes

Forgot to add - the longest I’ve seen is @UniGeezer going 1 mile on a 36 UW https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FrSjDJcUOy4 . Any tips, Terry?

Anyone know of longer distances than that?

1 Like

At the moment, I no longer ride UW. I used to only do them indoors and now I mostly do drag seats. It’s very similar, but I can practice picking up the saddle. :sweat_smile:

Otherwise, one year ago, I bought 2 lunicycles (16" and 20") to test the leg supports.
It wasn’t bad at all with my 28" UW. But the leg supports are made of plastic and break quickly.

@UniGeezer has had its own metal leg supports made, and I’ve also recently seen someone having some made by @jaco_flans .

I’d like to have some metal ones too, at least for my 28" wheel. But the ideal would probably be to have a 36" UW.

I think it’s possible to ride several kilometers with leg supports.

1 Like